Looking For Help

Discuss matters related to LDG or UT2004 which aren't specific to any server.
RoaringGnat

Looking For Help

Post by RoaringGnat » Fri 01 May , 2015 6:59 pm

Okay Guys and Gals, my game is not improving, so I'm asking for help. I've never done screen shots before so I hope this works. Maybe if I share my computer's properties you genius techies might be able to offer tips and tweaks. I'm posting a general shot of the game files, the computer system and the processes from task manager side-by-side. The first side shows what's going on before I play and the second after I'm in the game. Now if this doesn't work, it's because I'm senile and 99.9% of my brain cells were destroyed by all the beer I consumed as a teenager in Germany.

Here goes...
Attachments
processes side-by-side.jpg
Unreal Tournament Files.jpg
Computer Properties.jpg

Aberiu
V.I.P. Member

Re: Looking For Help

Post by Aberiu » Fri 01 May , 2015 9:34 pm

What exactly is your problem? Bad performance? Game running slow, you experience lag or freezes?

RoaringGnat

Post by RoaringGnat » Fri 01 May , 2015 10:34 pm

"What exactly is your problem? Bad performance? Game running slow, you experience lag or freezes?"

The easy answer would be all of the above. :) The frames don't always move smoothly, with some maps worse than others. There is lag, and occasional freezes. Normal memory use is about 39%, but when I get into the game it jumps up to 80,90, sometimes 100%. CPU goes way up too. I've tried some of the tweaking as suggested in other posts (as far as my limited expertise will let me), to no avail. I keep my resolution at 800x600 and all other settings at low or lowest, because much higher than that and it's too jerky to play. Part of the problem is the ping which hovers around 112-120, but the odd thing is, a few times the ping was even higher, in the 180-190 range and I'd swear the game play was a little smoother.

Aberiu
V.I.P. Member

Post by Aberiu » Fri 01 May , 2015 11:32 pm